Print this page

UNESCO Prizes and Awards in Science Featured

Grants & Awards Written by  vendredi, 14 octobre 2016 10:20 font size decrease font size increase font size

UNESCO Prizes in Science

Kalinga Prize for the Popularization of Science

The Kalinga Prize rewards the efforts of a person who has had a distinguished career as a writer, editor, lecturer, radio/television programme director or film producer, which has enabled him/her to help interpret science, research and technology to the public.

L'Oreal-UNESCO Prize for Women in Science

Each year, the For Women in Science Programme highlights scientific excellence and encourages talent through:

  • The L’Oréal-UNESCO For Women in Science Awards, given each year to five outstanding women scientists – one per continent – for the contributions of their research, the strength of their commitments and their impact on society.
  • The UNESCO-L’Oréal international Fellowships, and
  • The L'Oréal National Fellowships.

UNESCO Sultan Qaboos Prize for Environmental Preservation

The purpose of the Prize is to afford recognition to outstanding contributions by individuals, groups of individuals, institutes or organizations in the management or preservation of the environment, consistent with the policies, aims and objectives of UNESCO. The Prize is awarded biennially.

UNESCO-Equatorial Guinea International Prize for Research in the Life Sciences

The UNESCO-Equatorial Guinea International Prize for Research in the Life Sciences rewards individuals, institutions, or organizations for scientific research in the life sciences that improve the quality of human life.

Carlos J. Finlay UNESCO Prize for Microbiology

The Carlos J. Finlay UNESCO Prize rewards the efforts of an individual, or of an institution, non-governmental organization or other entity which, through research and development, has made an outstanding contribution to the field of microbiology and its applications. In so doing, the Government of Cuba and UNESCO aim to encourage research and development of Microbiology.

UNESCO Awards in Science

UNESCO-MAB Young Scientists Awards

Since 1989, the Man and the Biosphere Programme has been awarding yearly scholarships to ten young researchers, to encourage them to work on ecosystems, natural resources and biodiversity. Since 2010 two special fellowships financed by the Austrian MAB Committee are also being awarded.

Michel Batisse Award for Biosphere Reserve Management

This prize is awarded every two years in memory of Dr Michel Batisse for excellence in the management of the biosphere reserves in line with the recommendations of the Seville Strategy.

Mercosur Award in Science and Technology

The Award is open to students and researchers from Brazil and all the MERCOSUR countries: Argentina, Bolivia, Chile, Colombia, Ecuador, Paraguay, Peru, Uruguay and Venezuela, besides Brazil. There are four categories, for high school students, college students, young researchers and teams of researchers. 

UNESCO Medals in Science

UNESCO Medal for Contributions to the Development of Nanoscience and Nanotechnologies

This Medal was established in 2010 at the initiative of the International Commission responsible for developing the Nanoscience and Nanotechnologies theme for the Encyclopedia of Life Support Systems (EOLSS). It is awarded each year to prominent scientists, public figures and organizations that contributed to the development of nanoscience and nanotechnologies in the spirit of UNESCO’s priorities.  Past recipients include SZhores Alferov, winner of the 2000 Nobel Prize in Physics, Isamu Akasaki, winner of the 2014 Nobel Prize in Physics, and Chunli Bai, President of the Chinese Academy of Sciences.

UNESCO Niels Bohr Gold Medal

The UNESCO Niels Bohr Gold Medal was established in 1985 to commemorate the centenary of Niels Bohr’s birth and was given out in 1998, 2005, 2010 and now in 2013. The medal is awarded to researchers who have made outstanding contributions to physics – research which, furthermore, has or could have a significant influence on the world.

The IOC-UNESCO Anton Bruun Medal 
The Anton Bruun Memorial Lectures were established in 1970, to invite speakers to summarize important developments in the fields of solid earth studies, physical and chemical oceanography and meteorology, and marine biology during the Intergovernmental Oceanographic Commission’s Assembly, every 2 years. Earch speaker is also awarded the IOC-UNESCO Anton Bruun medal. Both are dedicated to the memory of the noted Danish oceanographer and first chairman of the Commission, Dr Anton Frederick Bruun.

The IOC-UNESCO N.K. Panikkar Medal

The N.K. Panikkar Memorial Lecture Series, dedicated to the memory of the noted Indian oceanographer, are held every 2 years during the Intergovernmental Oceanographic Commission’s Assembly. They address capacity building in marine science issues at regional and/or national level. The IOC-UNESCO N.K. Panikkar Medal is given to the guest speaker.

UNESCO Prizes and Awards website

Read 33377 times Last modified on samedi, 15 octobre 2016 11:33


  • Comment Link EstherAdogs samedi, 27 juin 2020 21:27 posted by EstherAdogs

    Khlqcu pgmylq online gambling online pharmacy generic vardenafil Qnude

  • Comment Link googolplex lundi, 15 juin 2020 13:01 posted by googolplex

    A googol is 10 to the 100th power (that is 1 followed by 100 zeros).

    A googol is bigger than the number of elementary particles in the world,
    which amount to just 10 to the 80th power.

  • Comment Link EstherAdogs jeudi, 11 juin 2020 23:05 posted by EstherAdogs

    Ixjlqo zznegt Viagra next day online canadian pharmacy

  • Comment Link BrianEnror lundi, 08 juin 2020 20:24 posted by BrianEnror

    safe place to buy viagra buy pfizer viagra online usa where to buy viagra in nyc

  • Comment Link EstherAdogs samedi, 06 juin 2020 23:17 posted by EstherAdogs

    Opybva ucxfuc Buy pfizer viagra online pharmacy online

  • Comment Link tinto mercredi, 03 juin 2020 14:13 posted by tinto

    hey there and thank you for your info – I have certainly
    picked up anything new from right here. I did however expertise a few technical points using this web site, as I experienced
    to reload the website many times previous to I could get it to
    load properly. I had been wondering if your web
    hosting is OK? Not that I'm complaining, but sluggish loading instances times will sometimes affect your placement in google and could damage your high-quality score if advertising and marketing with Adwords.

    Anyway I am adding this RSS to my email and can look out for a
    lot more of your respective exciting content. Ensure that you
    update this again very soon.

  • Comment Link cialis 10mg mardi, 02 juin 2020 22:25 posted by cialis 10mg

    Gtctqy yfqkuv Order viagra online when will cialis go generic

  • Comment Link order cialis online vendredi, 29 mai 2020 02:45 posted by order cialis online

    Ewcnvm meimye cialis online us cialis savings card

  • Comment Link TerrePojuism mardi, 26 mai 2020 03:11 posted by TerrePojuism

    Good creating is vital in an argumentation. Having said that, great writing may not make up for a paucity of concepts or even ideas. Pretty the contrary, a clear presentation regularly subjects weaknesses. Each technical phrase utilized in an argumentation should be actually defined either by a recommendation to a formerly posted definition (for typical phrases with their common meaning) or through a specific, obvious definition that looks just before the term is utilized (for a brand new phrase or a conventional term made use of in an unique way).

    visit this website

  • Comment Link how much does cialis cost at walmart samedi, 23 mai 2020 02:53 posted by how much does cialis cost at walmart

    Egunqs kiexmn Buy cheap viagra online us buy cialis online safely