International Foundation for Science (IFS) AWARDS

Grants & Awards Written by  vendredi, 21 octobre 2016 11:42 font size decrease font size increase font size
Rate this item
(0 votes)

Four award schemes have been created to give recognition to the IFS Grantees' scientific achievements. Nominations for the IFS Awards can be submitted by IFS Affiliated Organisations, other national and international scientific societies, research institutions in developed and developing countries, IFS Scientific Advisers and other scientists, and IFS Grantees. Self-nomination is not permitted.
Note: these awards are available only for IFS Grantees.

The Sven Brohult Award is the most prestigious of the IFS Awards. It is given to an IFS Grantee once every three years. 
Each Award is in the cash amount of USD 10,000.
» read more

The IFS/Danida Award was established with special funds from the government of Denmark in 1996 for grantees from Sub-Saharan Africa, and up to 12 awards were given yearly  until 2004. Each Award was of the value of USD 2,000. [This Award is no longer given.]
» read more

The IFS Jubilee Award was established originally in 1997 as  theIFS Silver Jubilee Award to complement the IFS/Danida Award, i.e. for grantees from countries other than from Sub-Saharan Africa. As a mark of the 30th Anniversary of IFS in 2004, the Board of Trustees changed the name to the IFS Jubilee Award. It is given to grantees from Latin America/ the Caribbean, Asia/ the Pacific and Northern Africa and the Middle East.  Up to 8 awards to the value of USD 2,000 each can be given each year.
» read more

The IFS/King Baudouin Award was created after IFS was awarded the King Baudouin International Development Prize in 1986. IFS decided to share this special recognition with its Grantees by using the funds of the Prize to establish the IFS/King Baudouin Award. During the years 1988-1996, a total of 87 Awards were made and were in the amount of USD 1,000 each. [This Award is no longer given.]
» read more

The Carolina MacGillavry-IFS Collaborative Research Award was created in 2013 with a bequest to IFS from Professor Carolina MacGillavry, received by IFS via the Royal Netherlands Academy of Arts and Sciences. The award will be used to encourage research collaboration by talented young researchers from the developing world.
» read more



Read 22978 times

Arabways Newsletter

Sign up to our newsletter


Recent Twitter Posts


The main criterion for election as a ARABWAYS Member is scientific excellence. Only those scientists who have made significant contributions to the advancement of science can be nominated as Members

Becoming a member is easy! Just make sure you have all of the items listed below :

  • Curriculum Vitae/Resume
  • Students and Postdocs: Proof of enrollment/status such as letter of acceptance and contact information for a department/faculty contact. 
  • Membership form